Collectormania Milton Keynes. C18

This weekend was not only the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, but an annual event (sometimes more than once a year, but I can usually only afford one!) called Collectormania in Milton Keynes (www.collectormania.com/miltonkeynes/) at the MK DONS football stadium. Where personalities from TV and Sport come to meet the fans and sign autographs.

There are many similar events like this throughout the year, and the country. I like this particular one because its local to where I live! As opposed to a themed “convention”, Collectormania is a more general cross section of celebrities. And it’s NOT just sci-fi (despite what everyone seems to assume when I tell them I’m attending this type of thing!). Although, I’ve noticed that those actors who have appeared on sci-fi shows seem to be more open and enthusiastic to get together with the fans. So the event can end up with a bias towards science fiction and fantasy TV and movies, but don’t forget that the actors have done or will do work in other genres too! This year there were mostly people from Game of Thrones, Doctor Who, Star Trek, Primeval, and many others. Check out the website for the full line up. In addition there were a ton of sports personalities there, from boxers to footballers, etc. (not that I would have recognised them had they not had their names above their heads!).

In previous years, I have met a whole range of people from Nathan Fillion (Firefly, Castle), Phillip Glennister (Life on Mars, Ashes to Ashes, Cranford), Danny John-Jules (Red Dwarf, Blade II), and many others! This year, although I would have liked to have met loads of the guests I was on a tight budget. I had already booked photo shoot tickets with two of the guests, Jason Mamoa (Stargate Atlantis, Conan the Barbarian, Game of Thrones) and John Barrowman (Torchwood), and planned to get their autographs, I allowed one extra, for a spur of the moment decision.

FRIDAY:
This year the lucky winner of my last minute decision was Brandon Routh (Superman Returns, Chuck, Scott Pilgrim vs The World), from whom I also managed to get a video of the moment a young boy (Oliver) in a Superman outfit went running up to his hero! And with permission, I was able to share the moment with the world. Enjoy!

I was glad that I took the Friday off work to spend at the event, as it was much less busy than on Saturday. I managed to come away with two good autos from Brandon Routh and Jason Momoa, shook both their hands and enjoyed a bit of light conversation! I also spotted a few other recognisable faces, and enjoyed the sights of many people in very impressive costumes.

image
Friday’s SWAG! My two autographs; Brandon Routh as Superman, and Jason Momoa as Ronon from Stargate Atlantis.

image
Spotted! One Lance Henriksen of Aliens fame!

After quite a long day walking round (and round, and round!) the stadium all day, I headed home after my last auto with Jason Momoa. Later on, I found out that I missed both Brandon and Jason, along with a few others actually have a kick about on the MK DONS pitch on their break. I kicked myself for missing it! But I found a couple of photos online to fill in the blanks:

image
Football Anyone?
Source: Showmasters twitter feed.

Take a look at some videos captured by myself and other attendees of various events throughout the weekend, and of course some football action! (via Collectormania Playlist on YouTube)

SATURDAY:
Saturday was an early start. I knew it was going to be busy, but I didn’t predict exactly how busy! I had two photo shoots booked, John Barrowman at 10:30am and then Jason Momoa at 2:25pm. Quite a gap in between to fill. In order to get a low enough ‘virtual queue’ ticket number that I could subsequently get John Barrowman’s autograph without waiting until 6pm, I got there for when the doors opened at 9:00am. And I got ticket number 251! Glad I didn’t get there any later!

imageimage
Here’s the scene at a quarter to nine on Saturday morning, waiting outside the venue

After a fair amount of waiting around, and walking around I managed to get two photos of myself with John Barrowman (the photographer noticed that I was still holding my ticket, so took a second photo.. also there was an accidental groping incident.. !). I then later had a bit of a chat with him whilst he was signing his auto.

I got my photo in the afternoon with Jason Mamoa, who only just stopped creasing up with laughter after the previous person asked for a face to face pose.. anything for a giggle!

It took a fair while for all the photos to get developed, so I ended up hanging around until 6pm! I then went home exhausted (but happy).

image
Tickets! Before the day.

image
Saturday’s SWAG.

I could have seen so many more people than I actually did, but then I’d have NO money left!

SUNDAY:
I could have gone back.. but I was too tired! I had successfully met those people that I had intended. So I stayed home!  Had a lay in. Sat at home and watched the Jubilee celebrations on the TV. And there was John Barrowman on a boat on the Thames.. Gets around a bit, doesn’t he!

Summary:
ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: Left The House!
ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: Brandon Routh!
ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: Jason Momoa!
ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: John Barrowman!

[Yes, I’m a GEEK!]

Until next time… CJ x

Leave a Reply

